8 April 2017

This time I woke up even earlier than usual so I could enjoy the very nice breakfast at the hotel before going on a tour with 9 other crew.

The breakfast was totally worth it! They had such a wide selection of food that I didn’t even had time or stomach to try them all. I always go for coffee, juice, fruits, salad and pancakes and when there’s asian food on the menu, oh yes, I get it all on my plate!

IMG_7439IMG_7808

Around 7h30/8h we left for the tour. One of the girls organized it with a local driver and we got into this big van just for us.

The first place we went to was the Tegallalang Rice Terrace. It took us around 2h to get there and the entrance fee is IDR 10.000, which is almost nothing, really.

The view was amazing! The place is beautiful, so so green but, to be honest, the humidity in the air was killing me. It was only 27ºC but it felt like 40ºC. It makes you feel tired and your clothes, your skin and you hair all feel sticky. I needed to get another shower, ASAP!

We didn’t actually climb the Rice Terrace but we felt like it was not necessary. We walked around, took dozens of pictures and then, after 1h or so, we left.

IMG_7596IMG_7533IMG_7534IMG_7603IMG_7634IMG_7548IMG_7611IMG_7813IMG_7810IMG_7513IMG_7525IMG_7544IMG_7817IMG_7605

Our second stop was in a regency called Gianyar. The driver was the one who told us about this place. We wanted to visit a few temples but we didn’t have the whole day to go around Bali and spend hours and hours driving and he knew about this location and how close it was from the rest.

There were just a few temples, nothing much, but they were located in a busy area with shops, traffic and lots of turists wandering the streets and it was nice to be there. I enjoyed looking at all these different people walking around, each one of them going somewhere else.

Some locals were also playing music and dancing in front of a temple which was quite entertaining.

IMG_7668IMG_7676IMG_7698IMG_7672IMG_7816IMG_7686IMG_7764IMG_7815FullSizeRender

Our final stop was the Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary, a nature reserve and Hindu temple complex where all the monkeys live freely and you can walk among them.

I must say I felt a little scared a few times. Most of them were quite big and they are very unpredictable.

Inside of the Forest you could even buy bananas to give to the monkeys. This is actually how people get pictures with them. They jump on you and you only have a few seconds before they get that banana, so you have to be extremely fast if you want a nice shot with them. With that being said, I was always far away from those people cause I didn’t want any monkeys coming at me!

IMG_7782IMG_7781IMG_7798IMG_7801

I think we got back to the hotel around 14h or 15h.

I felt tired and in desperate need of another shower. I ordered a pepperoni pizza (very traditional here, I know ahah) and slept a little before my flight back to Dubai.


Outfit details:

Dress: Unknown (bought in a street market in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)

Belt and sandals: Primark

Flip flops: Havaianas


XOXO, Inês

