6 May 2017

Yesterday I was in Rio, today I’m in Buenos Aires. One day I was speaking Portuguese, the next day Spanish.

Funny but this trip was actually very good for me to improve my communication skills.

By being Portuguese, we often manage to speak a little bit of Spanish, since both languages share the same roots and some of the words are the same. When we mix the two together we call it “Portunhol”. It’s not perfect but they get our point.

However, I’ve never had the courage to openly speak a different language than my own unless I’m 100% sure about it (which happens with English), so I was always very shy in regards to speaking Spanish.

But hell yeah, after this whole trip I’m (almost) fluent! I was always talking to passengers in Spanish, from Dubai to Rio, Rio to BA and back, since most of them were from Argentina. And in Buenos Aires I was always the translator between my colleagues and the locals.

Anyway, back to my day trip. I met my colleagues for breakfast the next day and then we went outside to explore the city. We were a group of 6 and we didn’t have a solid idea of what we wanted to do. Some of us wanted to buy magnets and postcards but that was it. Luckily we were in the city centre so everything was around.

We ended up walking for a little while, about 5 to 10 minutes, until we were in this already crowded street full of shops, cafés and restaurants. We bought our souvenirs and then decided to catch an Uber to El Caminito, a very famous street museum located in La Boca neighborhood, with pretty colored building walls, music, food and tango dancers. It’s a very touristic place but it is also a landmark of the city so it’s something you have to see.

IMG_9940IMG_9950IMG_9956IMG_0027IMG_0029IMG_0020

We had a nice time there. Had some good food, took some nice pictures. The weather was great! Not cold, not too hot. It’s easy too spend a couple of hours there. The atmosphere and the people are nice. The Uber going there was also pretty cheap and so was the taxi on the way back to the hotel. I think it costs us around 90 to 100 Pesos.

But please just take my advice and bring some insect repellent if you’re thinking about coming to this city (bring a lot, actually). I got around 20 mosquito bites on my legs, arms and back, and the next day my body was fighting all of them at once and it was not fun…

Other than that, I felt safe, I felt welcomed and will gladly come back 🙂

PS: Do you have any idea of what I should do in Buenos Aires next time I’m around? I’m going back there in a week…


Outfit details:

Dress: Garage

Cardigan: Zara

Sneakers and backpack: Primark


XOXO, Inês

